You can change the size of slides in PowerPoint or the aspect ratio of a PowerPoint presentation in all versions.
The default slide size or dimensions in 2013, 2016, 2019, or 365 is widescreen (16:9 aspect ratio), and in 2010 and earlier versions, the default is standard (4:3 aspect ratio).
You can also enter a custom slide size if you prefer (even enter the slide size in pixels). The best time to set the slide size is when you first set up your PowerPoint presentation before you add any content.
If you resize later in the process, you may have to deal with distorted images, and you may also need to adjust the position and size of various objects on slides in Normal view and on slide masters and layouts in Slide Master view.
Recommended article: How to Use the Laser Pointer in PowerPoint (Green, Red and Blue)
Slide sizes are typically as follows:
The widescreen or 16:9 aspect ratio is often used for on-screen presentations using a projector, monitor, or widescreen TV. Older projectors used the standard aspect ratio, but most new projectors are designed for widescreen.
The standard or 4:3 aspect ratio is typically used if the slides are to be printed on letter-sized paper.
You should never resize slides just before giving a presentation, as you may not be happy with the results. If you already have a presentation with images and other content, it's also a good idea to resize slides in a copy of the presentation so you can keep the original deck and slide size.
Note: Some ribbon tabs may appear with slightly different names if you're working with PowerPoint 365 and have a smaller screen or different display settings. Ribbon buttons may appear only as icons and are also affected by screen size and display settings.
Regardless of which version of PowerPoint you're using, you should review your slides after resizing them to make sure you're happy with the results. Be sure to also check your slide masters and layouts in Slide Master view.
How to resize slides in PowerPoint 2016, 2019, or 365
To change the slide size in PowerPoint 2016, 2019, or 365:
- In normal view, «click the Design tab on the ribbon» options.
- «Click on Slide Size» in the Customize group. A drop-down menu appears.
- Select Widescreen, Standard, or another option from the drop-down menu. If you want to set a custom size, select Custom Slide Size. A dialog box appears.
- «Enter the desired dimensions» or select another option under Slide Size.
- «Click OK»In 2016 and later, a dialog box appears with options to maximize content or scale (this dialog box only appears if you move from a larger to a smaller slide size).
- Select the desired option.
- Click OK.
In 2016 and later, PowerPoint offers to maximize content or scale to fit only when you resize the slide to a smaller size (for example, from widescreen to standard).
If you select Maximize, the slide content will not be resized when you change to the smallest slide size.
If you select Make Fit, PowerPoint will scale the content to fit the smaller slide size.
Change slide size in PowerPoint 2013
To set or change the slide size in PowerPoint 2013:
- In normal view, «click on the Design tab» of the ribbon.
- «Click on Slide Size» in the Customize group. A drop-down menu appears.
- Select Widescreen, Standard, or another option from the drop-down menu. If you want to set a custom size, «select Custom Slide Size». A dialog box appears.
- Enter the desired dimensions or select another option under Slide Size.
- Click OK.
How to change slide size in PowerPoint 2010
To set or change the slide size in PowerPoint 2010:
- In normal view, «click on the Design tab» of the ribbon.
- «Click on Page Setup» in the Page Setup group. A dialog box appears.
- Select an option from the Slide Size drop-down menu. If you want to set a custom size, enter the desired dimensions.
- Click OK.
Enter custom slide sizes
If you selected Page Setup in 2010 or Slide Size and then Custom Slide Size in 2013 and later, you can use custom slide sizes. Simply choose the options from the Slides Sized For drop-down menu in the dialog box (such as A4 paper size) or enter the custom dimensions.
Please note that the measurement system in PowerPoint dialog boxes is based on your system settings.
You can create posters in PowerPoint by entering a custom slide size, such as 36 inches wide by 56 inches tall or 91,44 inches wide by 142,24 inches tall. The maximum slide size in PowerPoint is 56 inches or 142,24 inches. As a best practice, set the slide size before adding content to the poster.
Many PowerPoint users are not aware that you can enter the slide size in pixels (simply enter the measurement with px next to the number). This is useful in a number of situations such as using PowerPoint to create social media posts.
If you enter the slide size in pixels (such as 200px), when you jump to another box or close the dialog box, PowerPoint changes the pixels to the equivalent in the current measurement system.
Problems changing slide size
When changing slide size in existing presentations with content, 4 common problems occur:
1. Images may appear distorted because PowerPoint attempts to adjust them to fit the slide size. Images on slides in Normal view will be affected, as well as images in the slide master and layouts. If images are distorted, you will need to manually resize each image or delete and reinsert them.
2. Objects such as placeholders and shapes that you created in PowerPoint are not in the position you want. You may need to move the objects or reset one or more slides (on the Home tab of the ribbon, click Reset in the Slides group).
3. Extra space is created when you change to a larger slide size. You may need to move or resize objects and adjust the slide master or layouts in slide master view.
4. If you have changed to a smaller slide size, you may need to increase the font size for placeholders and text boxes.
Size differences between PowerPoint 2010 and later versions
In PowerPoint 2010, when you select the widescreen format (16:9), the slide dimensions are 10 inches wide by 5,63 inches high, or 25,4 cm wide by 14,29 cm high. When you select the standard format (4:3), the dimensions are 10 inches wide by 7,5 inches high, or 25,4 cm high by 19,05 cm high.
In PowerPoint 2013 and later, the widescreen (16:9) dimensions are different and are set to 13,33 inches wide by 7,5 inches high or 33,867 cm wide by 19,05 cm high. This matches the height of the 4:3 format.
If you want PowerPoint 2010 to use the same dimensions for widescreen formatting as newer versions, you'll need to enter the same dimensions as 2013 in the Page Setup dialog box.
Summary
To avoid problems in PowerPoint related to slide size, you should:
Try setting the slide size as the first step after creating a presentation and before you've entered any content. In 2013 and later, the default is widescreen (16:9 aspect ratio).
If you've changed the size of slides in a presentation with content, review the slides to make sure you're happy with the results. You should also check the slide masters and layouts in the slide master view.
Never change the size of slides just before running a presentation, as you may not be satisfied with the results and will not have time to fix your slide deck. If you have created a presentation with content, make a copy of the presentation first and change the size of the slides in the copy.
Please note that widescreen is typically used for on-screen presentations and standard is typically used for printed presentations.
We also recommend you read: Advantages of PowerPoint over other presentation tools
My name is Javier Chirinos and I am passionate about technology. Ever since I can remember, I have been interested in computers and video games, and that passion has turned into a job.
I have been publishing about technology and gadgets on the Internet for over 15 years, especially in mundobytes.com
I am also an expert in online marketing and communication and have knowledge in WordPress development.
Table of Contents
- 1 Slide sizes are typically as follows:
- 2 How to resize slides in PowerPoint 2016, 2019, or 365
- 3 Change slide size in PowerPoint 2013
- 4 How to change slide size in PowerPoint 2010
- 5 Enter custom slide sizes
- 6 Problems changing slide size
- 7 Size differences between PowerPoint 2010 and later versions
- 8 Summary